Not everything is how it seems in the movies!

This week for ECMP 355 we were tasked with exploring the world of code. I personally have always wanted to learn to code but that won’t be happening, like ever. I feel the amount of time and the proper guidance are not reasonable for myself. Many of my favorite tv shows and movies involve a hacker/coder, I actually have a list of my five favorites:

    1. Penelope Garcia from Criminal Minds.
    2. Huck, Charlie and Quinn Perkins from Scandal.
    3. The digital consciousness of Arnim Zola from Captain America: The Winter Soldier.
    4. Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow from multiple Avengers movies.
    5. Skye from Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D

I am definitely aware that these are fictional characters, but I love what most of them stand for; they wanted access to more and they knew how to get it. I may never have coding skills near the level of the professionals, however I found that Code.org was a reliable source for me to play my hand at some basic coding skills. The site offers many different levels, games and time commitments. I did one of the hour of learning options. I am a huge fan of Star Wars so the choice was quite easy. Through the process there were rules and helpful hints to guide me. I think this is a great resource for students as there are many different options but they are all educational and entertaining. I had a hard time with a few levels as you could see in my screen casts. Coding is a great skill which is becoming more accessible due to the development of new technologies. It is important for students to have access to try new things and to learn along the way. Try it out and let me know what you think.

One thought on “Not everything is how it seems in the movies!

Leave a Reply

