understanding is the first step to success

So, I need to talk about the idea of tech in the classroom; I have a very complicated view on this subject. In my opinion tech should only be used in the classroom after the teacher feels comfortable with the equipment and is ready to monitor the students’ activity online, and is able to do so. I feel the younger children would have less need for vigorous monitoring as they would be using basic tools and applications, as opposed to the older students who use it on a daily basis. Thankfully for me I am aiming to teacher the younger years where you will need to be very active in helping your students reach the website or game and learn to use it.

8eba11a5c7d565f45e0b195ac9043ef9When you plop a laptop or tablet into the lap of a 13-year-old student they will be off onto their own sites faster than you can say “be safe” or “be smart”. I think that when used correctly, and introducing active learning through technology you could have a huge success on your hands. However, I feel that when leaving kids to their own devices to search the web it can be opening the floodgates into a whole world of possibly unexplored territory for the teacher.  When high school students have access to the online world they can access anything they want by the clicking of a few buttons and a few cleaver searches.

On the other hand, Technology ushers in fundamental structural changes that can be integral to achieving significant improvements in productivity. Used to support both teaching and learning, technology infuses classrooms with digital learning tools, such as computers and hand-held devices; expands course offerings, experiences, and learning materials; supports learning 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; builds 21st century skills; increases student engagement and motivation; and accelerates learning. Technology also has the power to transform teaching by ushering in a new model of connected teaching.

hqdefaultI love the possible benefits of technology in the classroom but fear the possibility of my students gaining access to inappropriate or illegal things. The possibilities for success and failure are endless. I think that if students are taught the basics of digital identity, how to be safe on a computer, how to understand what they are doings, how to be safe and responsible and how to be smart online technology would be the greatest gift to the school system. The first step to success in this world is understanding, comfort and appreciation. After that the rest can be learned over time with the help of many other tech-savvy responsible digital citizens.

4 thoughts on “understanding is the first step to success

  1. I agree with your thoughts on technology in the classroom with respect to being cautious allowing older students free and open access to the entire web. Like you mentioned I think it is important for the teacher to understand technology well enough to know if students are using it inappropriately. I teach mostly secondary aged students and I think if you teach them how to use technology appropriately along with adequate monitoring and a well-structured lesson it tends to minimize any issues.

    Like

  2. Your points about having to be more diligent with older kids and technology access I think are very accurate. I however have to disagree with you on younger kids not being able to maneuver around technology the same way. You do still have to very diligent about what they access. There is a wide range of tech savvy in 3-7 year olds. In the kindergarten class I volunteered in, there were 2 children out of 23 who did not know how to even turn on a table. The other 21 had varying competencies ranging from being able to get into one game and working that game only and then struggling to switch to another game app. On the other end there were kids who figured out how to access google. The saving grace there is in Kindergarten they generally can’t spell well enough to get anywhere. My point is you can not let your guard down with technology no matter the age. My 5 year old is as tech savvy as I am in some cases. I wish I could remember some of the articles I have read on this to share to support my observations, unfortunately my memory is failing me at this point in the semester.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

